Daily prompt: How to waste democracy

DAILY PROMPT
Prophecy

I don’t fully understand the implications of the Brexit vote, and I doubt if I would even if it were explained to me. I’m not an economist, and I’m not British.

But I’m old enough to have seen the world go round the block a few times, and it’s taught me this and that. First, things very rarely happen the way we expect them to, so panicking in advance is a very big waste of time and energy and a sure-fire way to cripple constructive thought. Secondly, constructive thought is essential in making the best of a bad job if a bad job is what you end up with. And thirdly, forecasting global financial doom instantly becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy. Everyone is already running around like chooks with their heads cut off, and it hasn’t even happened yet. Our stupidity can be breathtaking.

I can well see that young Brits might be upset at the thought of leaving the EU. It will put a glitch in their bucks’ weekends in Amsterdam and their annual raves in Magaluf, and although their livers and kidneys might be grateful for this later, nothing anyone says now will convince them that later will ever happen to them.

But if I were a British citizen, I’m pretty sure I’d be out today hunting down all those  whingeing and whining and demanding a rerun because I didn’t think my vote would count.

I really would like to smack you lot about the head. Along with anyone else who feels entitled to all the privileges of democracy but is not prepared to take responsibility for making it work – ie, playing their part in making known the wishes of the majority.

Democracy is Government by the people, typically through their elected representatives. So if you choose not to vote, or choose to stick a pin in the voting paper because you can’t be bothered thinking about it, then you get what you’re given and you have no one to blame but yourself if it isn’t what you wanted.

Think of it this way. If your friend offers you a choice of red or green jelly beans and you don’t state your preference, is it your friend’s fault if he/she eats the red ones before you decide the green ones taste like toothpaste?

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/prophecy/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily prompt: How to waste democracy

  1. They say there have been a record number of hits on Google from people in the UK trying to figure out what the EU actually is and what it means. Too soon old, too late smart.

  2. Hi
    I want to make my website more visitors, please help my comment is not deleted,
    thanks for sharing his knowledge with me,
    REKAL QURAN

Leave a Reply

