Daily prompt: Well how about that!

DAILY PROMPT
Knackered

Now this is a good word! Not exactly onomatopoeic, but it does have a satisfying thud that speaks of ‘let me collapse on the couch’, and historic overtones of worn out old horses, entirely appropriate to its current usage.

I use it quite a lot. If I’ve driven 500 km to Sydney (or back) I’m usually pretty knackered. If I’ve spent the morning in the surf I’m likely to be knackered as well, particularly on a hot day. I don’t mind being knackered now that I have time to get over it, but when I had a full-time job and four kids to raise, being knackered was a permanent state, which isn’t nearly as much fun. Still, I survived. What more could I ask?

But what intrigued me most about today’s prompt was that it’s definitely a deviation from the norm. It’s not a word Americans use. Good for those of us who do use it, not so good for the majority.

But you really are very protected, you know, there in the US. American culture comes to us raw and unmodified. We watch your movies and TV shows, read your books, sing your songs, all in their original form. We pick up your words; recognise your similarities and differences. But if I managed to snag an American publisher, I’d need to turn pavements into sidewalks, boots in trunks and the ground floor into the first floor before my novel would be acceptable. And while you do get overseas shows on cable, you also get a lot of American remakes instead of the original.

I find this very sad. It’s as if the cultural Powers That Be have decided you’re incapable of understanding the slightly unfamiliar. How insulting. But I find it frustrating as well. A culture both shapes and reflects a nation. How can you possibly understand other nations if their cultures are watered down and manipulated before they reach you?

And you miss out on a lot, as well. Wouldn’t you like to know about chooks? Budgie smugglers? Car boot sales? Billies? The Aussie salute?

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/knackered/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Daily prompt: Well how about that!

  1. Monicle says:

    When I saw this prompt I thought of you. I remember my mom using it, she was British, but I probably heard it from you last.

  2. I love budgie smugglers – the expression, not the, um… tight, um…
    In England, I’ve heard that expression used to describe a particular all-male activity, but let’s not go there.. not that we women would be welcomed, um… there.

Leave a Reply

