Daily prompt: Impossible to answer

Daily Prompt
Idyllic
What does your ideal community look like? How is it organized, and how is community life structured? What values does the community share?

If I were a good person, I imagine I’d want it to be all sweetness and light, with everyone being happy-chappy and falling over themselves (without injury) to help each other.

But I am not a good person, obviously. So much unadulterated saccharine would make me gag and run for the hills, which would be suitable punishment for being bad, given I’d rather live by the sea.

Assuming, of course, I hadn’t already died of boredom, been popped in a satin-lined coffin and farewelled with gentle tears and references to god’s plan.

But then what’s idyllic? Or ideal, come to that. Crime free would be good, but other than that… As far as I can see, however you interpret it, it’s fairly unnatural. Unless your perception of it builds in all the natural imperfections – in which case, why change the original?

Where I live isn’t idyllic, or even ideal, but I like it. I’m happy here. So I won’t be messing with it.

img011

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/idyllic/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Daily prompt: Impossible to answer

  1. My idyllic place has serious flaws, but I like it here. 🙂

  2. Jan Wilberg says:

    It looks pretty lovely – where is it?

  3. momshieb says:

    If you live by the sea, you are living in my idyllic. On most days, my “dream place” consists of one small house right on the ocean, and me. And possibly some wine.

  4. Noah Weiss says:

    You have a great perspective: idyllic would not be so perfect, because you need some negatives to be able to appreciate the positives!

  5. Pingback: Idyllic ,or is it? | Flying On Empty Thoughts

  6. Aunt Beulah says:

    I feel exactly the same way about my mountain home, which some think too rough, too redneck, too limited cultural and shopping opportunities. I’m happy here so I like living here. And, as you said so well, to be idyllic is to be unnatural.

Leave a Reply

